Should I have hit Pirella? Different calls in different VRs. Controversial 3-foot line violation. The key is the runner’s behavior, not the pitch.

The 3-foot line rule has changed again, and now you have to hit the batter to violate the 3-foot rule.

If the batter runs inside the foul line as he runs to first base, he is out for a 3-foot violation because he is trying to interfere with the fielder’s throw to first base. If the pitcher or other fielder catches the ball and tries to throw to first base, but the runner is running inside the foul line and overlaps the first baseman, the pitcher may try to throw the ball to the batter’s side and make an error. The rule is that the batter shouldn’t run inside the foul line to get to it.

This was the case in the Samsung-Kia game at Gwangju-Kia Champions Field on July 13. It was 0-0 in the top of the third inning. Samsung’s Jose Pirela hit a ball that rolled toward the first base line, and the pitcher who caught it, Yang Hyun-jong, turned and threw to first base, but it went sideways. When KIA manager Kim Jong-guk requested a video review and watched the replay, Pirela clearly ran inside the line, blocking his view by running between pitcher Yang Hyun-jong and first baseman Choi Won-jun. Yang’s throw appeared to miss Pirela as he threw to avoid him.

However, the video replay center ruled it a save. The umpires explained the reasoning behind the video review center’s decision, saying, “Although the runner did run toward fair, it was judged to be a missed throw from the beginning, so a save was declared.” This was a clear departure from the three-foot rule.

Coach Kim Jong-kook left the dugout and protested to the officials for a while, but it was not accepted, and after the video review, he was ejected for protesting and had to leave the dugout.

The 3-foot line was also at the center of controversy.

The KBO umpires, who had previously vowed to take a hard look at violations of the 3-foot line, initially declared an out when a pitch was thrown from third base as long as it was inside the line. Later, they only ruled a violation for running inside the line when the ball is thrown from the first base side.

Based on past decisions, Pirela’s run should have been called out as well. When the video review came in late, the umpires also said that they “didn’t think it was going to be this long. They had judged it as an out.

If this rule continues to be applied, it means that in the future, the ball must be pitched towards the batsman running inside the line. Since you can’t throw the ball sideways in the first place, you have to throw it in line with the first baseman, which means you have to hit a batter running inside the line to get the 3-foot violation.메이저놀이터

The key to the 3-foot line violation rule is whether the runner ran inside the line for the purpose of interfering with a fielder’s throw. The baseball rule states, “If the umpire determines that a runner, while running the second half of the distance between home plate and first base, runs to the outside (right) of the three-foot line or to the inside (left) of the foul line to interfere with a fielder attempting to handle a grounder to first base. However, running to the outside (right) of the 3-foot line or to the inside (left) of the foul line to avoid a fielder handling a batted ball does not count”.

The rule makes it clear that it’s not what the fielder throws, but how the runner runs that counts.

Again, the 3-foot line is at the center of the controversy. If the video review shows a different result, it means that the umpires are not familiar with the application of the rule. The KBO umpires need to clarify the rules. Video replay is meant to prevent unjustified harm, not to create unjustified harm.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *